Jimmy Belita, CM

PhD in Religious Studies, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
Masters in Management for Executives and Managers, University of San Jose Recoletos,
Master of Divinity, De Andreis Institute of Theology, Lemont, Illinois
AB Philosophy, St. Mary’s Seminary, Perryville, Missouri,

Jimmy Belita is a professor at St. Vincent School of Theology, Quezon City. He is former Dean of Theology at St. Vincent Ferrer Seminary in Jaro, Iloilo before he became the Dean of Theology at Seminario Mayor de San Carlos, Mabolo, Cebu in 1979 to 1980. In 1983, he became professor at De La Salle University (DLSU) and St. Vincent School of Theology (SVST). He served as Dean of SVST in 1986 to 1994. After his Deanship of SVST, he was selected as Chairperson of the Religious Studies Department of De La Salle University Manila, and a Member of the Board of Trustees of Colegio de San Lorenzo. In 1988 he was Visiting Professor at Eastern College (now Eastern University) in St. Davids, Pennsylvania. After his return to DLSU, he held the Ariston Estrada Sr. Professorial Chair for Theology. In 1993, he was appointed Director of the Institute of Religious Education at Adamson University (AdU) Manila, and then served as Vice President for Academic Affairs until 1995. He was also a member of the Archdiocesan Commission on Visions and Phenomenon of the Archdiocese of Manila. Since 1998, he has been a member of the Board of Trustees of Sacred Heart College in Quezon, La Concordia College in Manila, and Immaculate Heart of Mary College in Quezon City. He was also appointed Vice-Chairman of the Board of Trustees and President of Adamson University Manila in 1994, and served in this capacity until 2003. His latest publication is God Was Not in the Wind: an Evolutionary Understanding of Popular Religion in the Philippines, which won the National Book Awards in 2006. His present research interest is on shamans and faith healers, and the interface between religion and physical sciences.


● Belita, Jimmy A. and Corazon P. Manalo. (Ed.). Quest for insights into faith: charting new paths and direction for religious education. Manila: Adamson University Press. 2001

● Belita, Jimmy A., CM. Teaching and Being-A-Church: Towards an Ecclesiology of Education. Manila: Adamson University Press, 1997.

● Belita, Jimmy C.M., Cast into the Deep. The Filipino Moral Imagination for Social Change. Manila: Congregation of the Mission, 1994.

● Belita, Jimmy A. (Ed.) And God Said: Hala! Studies in Popular Religiosity in the Philippines. De La Salle University Press, Manila, Philippines : 1991

● Belita, Jimmy A. The way of greater self : constructing a theology around a Filipino mythos. De La Salle University Press, Manila, Philippines : 1991

● Belita, Jimmy A. From Logos to Diwa. A Synthesis of Theological Research in Catholic Graduate Schools in the Philippines (1965-1985). Manila: De La Salle University Press. 1986



RECTOR: Manuel Ginete, CM, PhD
DEAN: Rolando Tuazon, CM, PhD, SThD

PhD in Theology Program
Director: Manuel Ginete, CM
Coordinator: Emiliano Ibera III, PhD
Daniel Franklin Pilario, CM, PhD, SThD
Rolando Tuazon, CM, PhD, SThD

Philosophy Program
Director: Kenneth Centeno, CM, PhD
Coordinator: Atty. Maria Katrina Sales-Macatiag

Ordained Ministry and Masters Program
Director: Rex Fortes, CM, PhD, SThD

KU Leuven-SVST-AdU Cooperation
Coordinator: Rex Fortes, CM, PhD, SThD

Lay Formation Program (Hapag-Layko)
Director: Carolina Daria

Recruitment and Admissions
Director: John Era, CM, PhD

Resource Center for Social Concern
Director: Director: Emiliano Ibera III, PhD

Student Affairs
Director: Dario Pacheco, CM

Library Committee
Director: Dario Pacheco, CM
Librarian: Maylene Urcia
Daniel Franklin Pilario, CM
Rolando Tuazon, CM, PhD, SThD
Manuel Ginete, CM, PhD, SthD

Research Committee
Chair: Rolando Tuazon, CM, PhD, SThD
Kenneth Centeno, CM, PhD
Emiliano Ibera III, PhD
Manuel Ginete, CM, PhD

Network and Linkages Committee
Chair: John Era, CM, PhD
Enrique Batangan
Emiliano Ibera III, PhD
Rolando Tuazon, CM, PhD, SThD
Daniel Franklin Pilario, CM, PhD, SThD

Curriculum and Syllabi Committee
Chair: Rolando Tuazon, CM, PhD, SThD
Kenneth Centeno, CM, PhD
Dario Pacheco, CM
Emiliano Ibera III, PhD

Scholarship Committee
Chair: Manuel Ginete, CM, PhD
Rolando Tuazon, CM, PhD, SThD
John Era, CM, PhD
Erna Carreon
Rodiper Calumpiano